The Certificate of Scrapping form (TR-208) is used to transfer ownership of an abandoned, scrap vehicle or vessel taken into custody by law enforcement.
Please keep the following points in mind when completing the Certificate of
- The vehicle or vessel information reported on this form must correspond to what is
entered into LEIN.
- Michigan's Abandoned laws require law enforcement to notify the
Secretary of State through LEIN of a vehicle's or vessel's abandoned
status within 24 hours of taking it into custody. Only vehicles or vessels
registered or titled in Michigan or those with an out-of-state license plate
are reported to the department. Within seven days of receiving the LEIN notice,
MDOS mails the Notice of Abandoned Vehicle/Vessel form (TR-52e) to the owner of record as kept by the Secretary of State
and to any secured party on record.
- If the registered abandoned scrap vehicle is not redeemed within 20 days, the law enforcement agency may
release it to a towing service, used or secondhand vehicle parts dealer, scrap metal processor, automotive
recycler, or foreign salvage vehicle dealer. If the registered abandoned scrap vessel is not redeemed within
20 days, the law enforcement or towing agency may release it to a scrap metal processor or landfill operator.
Unregistered or untitled vehicles or vessels may be released immediately.
- A towing service, used or secondhand vehicle parts dealer, scrap metal processor,
automotive recycler, or foreign salvage vehicle dealer must complete the Reassignment of Certificate of Scrapping (Box #6 on the
TR-208) to sell the vehicle or vessel to a new owner. A vehicle or vessel released with a
Certificate of Scrapping can only be retitled with a scrap title. The new owner
is restricted to using the vehicle or vessel for parts or scrap metal only.